Skip to content

Galoshes

January 31, 2005

The other day I saw one half of a pair of galoshes jamming an escalator, thus rendering it inoperable. As I tried to explain the story the next day. I realized I didn’t know what the singular form of “galoshes” was. As I told my story, I made up the ridiculous word “galosh” while smiling and signaling quotation marks with my fingers, which is like a “Get out of jail free” card for misusing the English language. Soon after, I looked up the word “galoshes” in the dictionary.

To my dismay, I realized that my “galosh” joke was not actually a joke, as I was actually using the correct term. The English language is stupider than I thought.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

